Grey Dog Software

Go Back   Grey Dog Software > Wrestling Spirit 1/2 > Wrestling Spirit 1/2 Tech Support
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 04-03-2019, 10:52 PM
JDrake687 JDrake687 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 8
Default White Screen

I've noticed that whenever I'm creating a new database in Wrespi2, about 7 or 8 workers in the game will start cutting out to a white screen, a permanently white screen at that. I just got Wrespi 2 recently and cant find any similar issue to it. Wondering if anybody knew how to fix it, because I tried resetting my computer but it completely destroyed the database and all my work along with it. Hopefully I can avoid that again. I know its an older game now, but hopefully someone has an answer.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 04-04-2019, 06:01 AM
Adam Ryland Adam Ryland is offline
GDS Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 9,683
Default

1 - Are you using the latest patch?

2 - Did you reset your computer after you completed the installation?

3 - "I tried resetting my computer but it completely destroyed the database and all my work along with it": did you reset while the game was still open?

4 - Are you running the game in administrator mode?
__________________
Adam Ryland
Designer of TEW, WMMA, WreSpi, and Comic Book Hero
adamryland@hotmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 04-04-2019, 04:16 PM
JDrake687 JDrake687 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 8
Default

1. Yep using the latest patch.

2. Did reset my computer after the installation.

3. I did mess up there, the game must've been open when I did another restart to offset the white screen. So that probably explains the database wipe.

4. Yes I am running in administrator mode.

I've noticed that since updating my graphics card I haven't gotten the white screen again, still odd though since I never got a white screen on TEW 16 or WMMA 4/5 or Wrespi 3. Thanks for your response Adam!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 04-05-2019, 02:31 AM
Adam Ryland Adam Ryland is offline
GDS Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 9,683
Default

It would be because WreSpi uses some different controls from the other games. Glad you got it sorted!
__________________
Adam Ryland
Designer of TEW, WMMA, WreSpi, and Comic Book Hero
adamryland@hotmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 04-05-2019, 06:17 PM
JDrake687 JDrake687 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 8
Default

I got my hopes up a bit too high. Maybe it's just my computer but I'm still getting the white screen, just less frequently. The white screen is only the game page though, which is equally odd. And if I force close it (which I have to) through task manager and restart the game it works up until edit database. It's the strangest thing.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 04-06-2019, 02:18 AM
Adam Ryland Adam Ryland is offline
GDS Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 9,683
Default

It sounds like it might be a memory issue if it's only happening infrequently: if it was a code problem it'd happen every time or not at all. If you close down the game and re-enter after each time you edit something does that prevent it from happening?
__________________
Adam Ryland
Designer of TEW, WMMA, WreSpi, and Comic Book Hero
adamryland@hotmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 04-06-2019, 03:26 AM
JDrake687 JDrake687 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 8
Default

Definitely infrequently. That's been my only guess as of late. I might try moving it onto a different computer.

Yeah after getting the white screen, everytime I restart the game up (without a computer restart) I can get to edit database, but once I try to edit anything or even run a match I get the white screen again.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 04-09-2019, 06:09 PM
JDrake687 JDrake687 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 8
Default Just Keeps Getting Worse

Tried using the temporary update, and switching computers and nada. Using the temporary update it wont even let me load the game. Switched computers, white screen came back. So it wasn't the computer.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 04-09-2019, 06:27 PM
JDrake687 JDrake687 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 8
Default

Got the temporary update posted too work, after switching computers again. But nada. White screen.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 04-10-2019, 02:02 AM
Adam Ryland Adam Ryland is offline
GDS Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 9,683
Default

Does this only happen when editing your own database, or also when editing the default data?

And can you confirm that you're actually able to play the game (i.e. not the editor) without this happening?
__________________
Adam Ryland
Designer of TEW, WMMA, WreSpi, and Comic Book Hero
adamryland@hotmail.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.