Grey Dog Software

Go Back   Grey Dog Software > GDS Central > World of Mixed Martial Arts 5 General Discussions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 01-15-2018, 03:49 PM
ShaunGBD ShaunGBD is offline
Major League
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 812
Default Looking to buy a laptop next week.

Looking to buy a lap top next week. I will only buy it if it runs wmma fast. Could someone tell me if it would or not. It's a hp 15-bw032wm 15.6" smoke gray laptop. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 01-15-2018, 08:24 PM
ShaunGBD ShaunGBD is offline
Major League
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 812
Default

The info on it:

AMD Quad-Core A12-9720P APU Processor (2.7 GHz-3.6 GHz, 2MB Cache), AMD Radeon R7 Graphics
8GB DDR4-2133 SDRAM, 1TB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive, DVD+/-RW Optical Drive
15.6" Diagonal HD SVA BrightView WLED-backlit Display (1366 x 768), HP TrueVision HD Webcam with Integrated Digital Microphone, DTS Studio Sound with 2 Speakers, Multi-Format SD Media Card Reader
Integrated 10/100/1000 Ethernet LAN, 802.11a/b/g/n/ac and Bluetooth 4.0 Combo, 1 xUSB3.1, 2 xUSB2.0, 1xHDMI, 1xRJ-45, 1xHeadphone/Microphone Combo
Windows 10 Home Operating System, Up to 5.5 hours Battery Life, Classic Black Color
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 01-16-2018, 02:29 AM
Sco xY2Jx's Avatar
Sco xY2Jx Sco xY2Jx is offline
Minor League
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Carnoustie, Scotland
Posts: 369
Default

You'll be fine.
To be honest, the requirements for running a game like WMMA aren't massive as it isn't a graphics heavy PC game in the vein of like Civ, GTA, Football Manager etc.
An older laptop will still play it, things may just take longer to load. The game will use a resolution of 1366x768, bigger than previous games so you'll need to ensure you're laptop screen can accommodate that which I don't think it will. I'm not tech savvy but the game would take up your entire screen. In terms of specs, it should be fine but maybe someone more knowledgeable could help regarding the screen size.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 01-16-2018, 08:56 AM
cdidman cdidman is offline
Low Minors
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunGBD View Post
The info on it:

AMD Quad-Core A12-9720P APU Processor (2.7 GHz-3.6 GHz, 2MB Cache), AMD Radeon R7 Graphics
8GB DDR4-2133 SDRAM, 1TB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive, DVD+/-RW Optical Drive
15.6" Diagonal HD SVA BrightView WLED-backlit Display (1366 x 768), HP TrueVision HD Webcam with Integrated Digital Microphone, DTS Studio Sound with 2 Speakers, Multi-Format SD Media Card Reader
Integrated 10/100/1000 Ethernet LAN, 802.11a/b/g/n/ac and Bluetooth 4.0 Combo, 1 xUSB3.1, 2 xUSB2.0, 1xHDMI, 1xRJ-45, 1xHeadphone/Microphone Combo
Windows 10 Home Operating System, Up to 5.5 hours Battery Life, Classic Black Color
Really, if you are buying a new computer and not looking to buy some friends computer he's selling that's from the early 90's, your computer will be fine as far as running this game. It's the screen size that's important now. Most, and I say most 15.6" monitors should be able to run in 1366x768 resolution. It looks like what you copied here shows that resolution, so you're good. Unless there is something I am missing here.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 01-16-2018, 09:06 AM
ShaunGBD ShaunGBD is offline
Major League
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdidman View Post
Really, if you are buying a new computer and not looking to buy some friends computer he's selling that's from the early 90's, your computer will be fine as far as running this game. It's the screen size that's important now. Most, and I say most 15.6" monitors should be able to run in 1366x768 resolution. It looks like what you copied here shows that resolution, so you're good. Unless there is something I am missing here.
As far as I know. No I just copied the description from the box. Thank guys for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 01-16-2018, 10:15 AM
javier_83's Avatar
javier_83 javier_83 is offline
Low Minors
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 278
Default

you will be fine!! just be sure to have enough ram to make your lap usable for some years from now
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 01-16-2018, 11:18 AM
ShaunGBD ShaunGBD is offline
Major League
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by javier_83 View Post
you will be fine!! just be sure to have enough ram to make your lap usable for some years from now
Is the amount good for now at least? How much more would you add?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 01-16-2018, 02:24 PM
AQuebman AQuebman is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 83
Default

8 GB's of ram is fine 16 is the most id move up to.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 01-16-2018, 02:25 PM
AQuebman AQuebman is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 83
Default

Though for the money your likely to spend buying a new laptop I recommend just building a desktop that's light-years better.

Also I would suggest using the TomsHardware forums for all your PC tech questions/needs.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 01-16-2018, 04:12 PM
javier_83's Avatar
javier_83 javier_83 is offline
Low Minors
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 278
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunGBD View Post
Is the amount good for now at least? How much more would you add?
I will start at least with 8gb of ram
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Unread 01-16-2018, 05:28 PM
ShaunGBD ShaunGBD is offline
Major League
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AQuebman View Post
Though for the money your likely to spend buying a new laptop I recommend just building a desktop that's light-years better.

Also I would suggest using the TomsHardware forums for all your PC tech questions/needs.
It's on clearance for $199. $150 off normal price.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Unread 01-17-2018, 09:48 AM
cdidman cdidman is offline
Low Minors
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunGBD View Post
It's on clearance for $199. $150 off normal price.
Just to be clear for you, this computer you are buying will play WMMA5, the screen resolution looks like it will project in the correct setting. Others are basically saying, this computer seems to be very basic, which I think is what you're going for. If you are looking for something that will handle bigger things or grow, no, not a real good computer for that.

To play WMMA5, you are good.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Unread 01-17-2018, 10:54 AM
Brycec03 Brycec03 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 85
Default

If a laptop canít play WMMA 5 could the person get around the issue by connecting to a tv? I think my laptop will handle it but figured Iíd ask people with more knowledge about this stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Unread 01-17-2018, 12:32 PM
AQuebman AQuebman is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 83
Default

If your issue is the resolution than that should get around it. The only issue an older pc processing wise will have is it will take longer to process other companies and the passing days/weeks but just to run the game if your PC can handle a spreadsheet with a macro it can probably run WMMA5. I mean outside of resolution I think my toaster could run the wmma games.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Array [all_times_are_gmt_x_time_now_is_y]


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.