Grey Dog Software

Go Back   Grey Dog Software > Total Extreme Wrestling 2016 > Total Extreme Wrestling 2016 Tech Support
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 03-25-2020, 01:43 PM
Mr_E_33 Mr_E_33 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 2
Default Database

I just bought the game yesterday and am not sure if I was supposed to do anything else, but three questions...

1. The game says I should download the latest update to ensure best gameplay, but I'm having trouble finding it.

2. I have also tried to just play through without any updates and when I go to load the game, it tells me to double-click on a game to start, but I have no options. So I figured I had to select a database, but when I do that, it tells me that the database I am using is the one already selected, which is the CornellVerse 16. There is just no game to load.

3. Another thing I've tried is downloading some mod databases and seeing what that does, but when I go to unzip it, it takes me to my Microsoft Access and asks me for a database password. So I figured maybe it was the password to my Microsoft Office account and that wasn't it. Not sure what to do there.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 03-25-2020, 02:40 PM
Adam Ryland Adam Ryland is offline
GDS Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 9,807
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_E_33 View Post
1. The game says I should download the latest update to ensure best gameplay, but I'm having trouble finding it.
The latest patch is pinned to the top of this forum, together with installation instructions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_E_33 View Post
2. I have also tried to just play through without any updates and when I go to load the game, it tells me to double-click on a game to start, but I have no options. So I figured I had to select a database, but when I do that, it tells me that the database I am using is the one already selected, which is the CornellVerse 16. There is just no game to load.
Load Game means you are loading a game you previously began. If you haven't started a game then naturally there wouldn't anything in the list yet. You start a new game by clicking the New Game button on the first screen of the game.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_E_33 View Post
3. Another thing I've tried is downloading some mod databases and seeing what that does, but when I go to unzip it, it takes me to my Microsoft Access and asks me for a database password. So I figured maybe it was the password to my Microsoft Office account and that wasn't it. Not sure what to do there.
You do not run the mods separately, they are databases to be installed into the game. If you access the game's editor, available from the first screen of the game, there's a button that guides you through how to install a mod in a step by step guide. There is also a thread entitled How To Install A Mod pinned to the top of the Mods subforum (i.e. the forum where you likely got the mod from).
__________________
Adam Ryland
Designer of TEW, WMMA, WreSpi, and Comic Book Hero
adamryland@hotmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 03-25-2020, 03:26 PM
Mr_E_33 Mr_E_33 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 2
Default

[quote=Adam Ryland;2396792]The latest patch is pinned to the top of this forum, together with installation instructions./QUOTE]

When it is finished downloading, it tells me the folder can not be extracted. It says "The code execution cannott proceed because elicen40.dll was not found. Reinstalling the program may fix the problem."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 03-26-2020, 03:09 AM
Adam Ryland Adam Ryland is offline
GDS Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 9,807
Default

That means that you are incorrectly trying to run the file that is inside the zip directly. You do not run it from there, it is simply a replacement executable file - you copy and paste it over the top of the TEW2016.exe that you already have on your computer (please see the installation instructions in the patch thread where this is detailed).

Given point 3 in your first post, you consistently appear to be trying to run what's inside the zip files rather than actually unzipping / extracting them. My guess is that you perhaps have not used them before? Please note that you don't double click on the contents of a zip file (that would attempt to run it) the correct method is to highlight the contents and then copy and paste it out of the zip (for example, onto your desktop). This extracts the content out of the zip file.
__________________
Adam Ryland
Designer of TEW, WMMA, WreSpi, and Comic Book Hero
adamryland@hotmail.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.